How to move folders that are synced with BitTorrent Sync

BitTorrent Sync is an app/technology that allows multiple computers and devices to share synchronized folders.

On my computer, I setup a folder called BTFamily, and synced that to my wife’s and kids’s computers. It worked so well, that I later added a folder shared between just my wife and myself, called BTMain.

At this point, the home directory on my Mac contained:

  • BTFamily
  • BTMain

Thinking that I might end up with quite a few synced folders, I was hoping to move those two folders into a single top-level folder called BTSync.

  • BTSync
    • BTFamily
    • BTMain

This article in the BitTorrent forums explains how to do this:

  1. Copy the folder’s “Secret”
  2. Remove the folder from SyncApp
  3. Copy/move the entire folder contents to a new location
  4. Re-add the folder’s new location to SyncApp, using the secret you copied in Step 1

SyncApp will still re-index the folder, but it will then carry on sync’ing with the folders on the other devices you’d previously given the same key to. You won’t have to re-issue a new key to your 10 other people!

One thought on “How to move folders that are synced with BitTorrent Sync”

Agree? Disagree? What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.